Harris classification of acetabular fractures

The Harris classification of acetabular fractures is based on definitions of acetabular walls and columns that differ from the Judet and Letournel classification .


The Judet and Letournel classification is more widely used and is applicable to both CT and plain radiographs, whereas, the Harris classification is applicable to CT only .


The Harris classification defines acetabular fractures in four categories :

  • category 0: anterior wall or posterior wall only
  • category 1: single-column fractures
  • category 2: both columns (i.e. transverse)
    • 2a: no extension
    • 2b: superior extension
    • 2c: inferior extension
    • 2d: superior and inferior extension
  • category 3: acetabular dissociated from the axial skeleton