WHO classification of tumors of soft tissue

The World Health Organization (WHO) classification of soft tissue tumors is the most widely used pathologic classification system for such disorders. The current revision, part of the 4 edition of the WHO series, was published in 2013 and is reflected in the article below .


Adipocytic tumors
Fibroblastic/myofibroblastic tumors
So-called fibrohistiocytic tumors
Smooth muscle tumors
Pericytic (perivascular) tumors
Skeletal-muscle tumors
Vascular tumors
Chondro-osseous tumors
Gastrointestinal stromal tumors
Nerve sheath tumors
Tumors of uncertain differentiation
Undifferentiated/unclassified sarcomas

Changes from prior versions

Compared to the 3edition of the WHO classification, published in 2002, the 4 edition had several major changes . Newly included entities were gastrointestinal stromal tumors, peripheral nerve sheath tumors, giant cell fibroblastoma, and dermatofibrosarcoma protuberans. Pleomorphic malignant fibrohistiocytoma and undifferentiated pleomorphic sarcoma were changed to the new category of undifferentiated/unclassified tumors. The mixed and round subtypes of liposarcoma were deleted, as was hemangiopericytoma.

Siehe auch:
und weiter: