The uvea (plural: uveas), also called the uveal layer or vascular tunic, is the middle of the three layers that make up the eye. It is the pigmented layer and its main function is of nutrition and gas exchange. It sits between the retina (innermost layer) and sclera.

It is traditionally split up into three anatomical portions:

  • iris (anteriorly)
  • ciliary body (at the level of the lens)
  • choroid (surrounding the rest of the posterior chamber)

Related pathology

Anatomy: Head and neck

Anatomy: Head and neck

Siehe auch:
und weiter: